Risk aversion and indifference curve, Microeconomics

Assignment Help:

Risk Aversion and Income

- Variability in potential payoffs increases risk premium.

- Example:

  • A job has a .5% probability of paying $40,000 (utility of 20) and a 5 percent chance of paying 0 (utility of 0).

* The expected income is $20,000, but expected utility falls to 10.

Expected utility = .5u($) + .5u($40,000)

         = 0 + .5(20) = 10

* The certain income of $20,000 has a utility of 16.

*  If person is required to take the new position, the utility of them will fall by 6.

* The risk premium is $10,000 (that is they would be willing to give up $10,000 of the $20,000 and have same E(u) as the risky job.

*  Thus, it can be said that greater the variability, greater the risk premium.

*  Indifference Curve

- Combinations of the3 expected income & standard deviation of income which yield the same utility.

1808_risk aversion.png

2239_risk aversion1.png


Related Discussions:- Risk aversion and indifference curve

Bandwagon effect, In the diagrams related to bandwagon effect, why do we sa...

In the diagrams related to bandwagon effect, why do we say when the price is 30$ the demand is 40?

Price and inflation, If the price of that cup of teh-tarik has increased in...

If the price of that cup of teh-tarik has increased in such an amount,economists may not necessarily conclude that the country is going throungh inflation.why is that so?

Returns to scale, describe returns to scale and give examples of each.

describe returns to scale and give examples of each.

Pricing ATM Machines, A bank in a medium-sized midwestern city, Firm X, cur...

A bank in a medium-sized midwestern city, Firm X, currently charges $1 per transaction at its ATMs. To determine whether to raise price, the bank managers experimented with a numbe

Monopoly, if the inverse demand curve is p=120-Qand the marginal cost is co...

if the inverse demand curve is p=120-Qand the marginal cost is const ant at 10 ,

Taxes, Hotel rooms go for $100/room and sell 1000/day; if taxed at $10/room...

Hotel rooms go for $100/room and sell 1000/day; if taxed at $10/room and rate goes to $108 and 900 rooms are sold, what''s the tax revenue and dead weight loss?

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd