Determine growth rate, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

(a)  The value of a share of Rio National Equity on 31 December 2002, using the Gordon growth model and the capital asset pricing model, can be determined as follows.

Required rate of return using CAPM,

k = rf + β (kM - rf) = 4% + 1.8*(9% - 4%) = 13%

The value of share using Gordon growth model,

 P0 = D0*(1 + g)/(k -g) = $0.20*(1 + 12%)/(13% - 12%) = $22.40

Thus the value of a share of Rio National equity has been determined to be $22.40.

(b)  The three components of Rio National's return on equity (ROE) for the year 2002 using the DuPont model are as calculated as follows

145_ROE.png

Net profit margin = Net income/ sales = $30.16/$300.80 = 10.03%

Total Assets Turnover = Sales/Total assets = $300.80/$541.40 = 0.556

Equity multiplier = Total assets/Stockholder's equity = $541.40/$270.35 = 2

Thus the three components of Rio National's ROE have been calculated as 10.03%, 0.556 and 2.

(c)   The sustainable growth rate of Rio National on 31 December 2002 can be determined as follows

Growth rate, g = Earnings retention rate*ROE (or) (1 - Dividend payout ratio)*ROE

Dividend payout ratio = Dividends paid/Net income = $3.20/$30.16 = 10.61%

ROE = Net income/Stockholder's equity = $30.16/$270.35 = 11.16%

g = (1 - 10.61%)*11.16% = 9.97%

Thus sustainable growth rate has been calculated to be 9.97%


Related Discussions:- Determine growth rate

Exploration costs, are eploration costs of a mining industry regarded as an...

are eploration costs of a mining industry regarded as an asset or expense or both?

Discount model of stock valuation-ddm, Value one stock using the dividend d...

Value one stock using the dividend discount model of stock valuation with two periods of constant growth (not the simple one period growth model).  See chapter 18 of the textbook

Break-even analysis, Break-Even Analysis Break-even point is the volum...

Break-Even Analysis Break-even point is the volume of sales at that there is no loss or. Break-even charts graphically show the relationship of cost to profits and volume and

Assignment Choice #2: Accounting for Byproducts (Quantitativ, Pyramid Print...

Pyramid Printing Company is a printer of magazines and retail inserts. In addition, there are two joint products (food wrapping and book covers) and one byproduct (shipping-box ins

Variable overhead efficiency variance, Variable Overhead Efficiency Varianc...

Variable Overhead Efficiency Variance Budget for December 2003; Shs. Fixed Overheads 11,480 Variable Over

Direct material usage variance, Direct Material Usage Variance Refers ...

Direct Material Usage Variance Refers to the difference among the actual quantity utilized and the standard quantity particular for the actual production, all valued at the st

Prepaid expenses, Expenses paid in previous of their use or consumption is ...

Expenses paid in previous of their use or consumption is termed as prepaid expenses. At the ending of the year, a portion of the payment keeps unconsumed and is treated like an ass

Determine equivalent units of the product, Determine Equivalent Units of th...

Determine Equivalent Units of the Product Let assume there are 4,000 units of a product in ending inventory out of that 60 percent are fully complete whereas the remaining are

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd