Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Flexible budget, Prod 400000 DM cost $3 DL 24 moh v 1.80 F 4.50 products 35...

Prod 400000 DM cost $3 DL 24 moh v 1.80 F 4.50 products 35000 DMP12000lb@$11/lb DM use10450lb DL38500HR 880500 v moh64150 FMOH152000

Calculate the minimum annual sales, a factory operates a small canteen but ...

a factory operates a small canteen but its annual operation has consistently shown a loss:

Determine which project is more lucrative - investment , The Zooline Compan...

The Zooline Company (Pty) Ltd is an American based company that focuses on the LSM 8 -10 markets. They do vehicle interiors, raise or lower suspensions and install top end sound sy

Find the total landed cost, What conclusion can you draw when comparing the...

What conclusion can you draw when comparing the total landed or delivered cost to the original purchase cost? What does this suggest about the importance of supply chain managem

CORPORATE ACCOUNTING, I WENT TO MAKE ONE ASSIGNMENT CAN YOU GIVE ME QUOTE O...

I WENT TO MAKE ONE ASSIGNMENT CAN YOU GIVE ME QUOTE OR LINK TO SHARE ASSIGNMENT DETAIL

Calculate cost of debt and cost of preferred shares, You have been asked by...

You have been asked by Mogul-Basher (MB) Ltd., a manufacturer of snowboards, to evaluate its capital structure. As a first step, you need to estimate MB's current weighted average

Costs of the service departments, Bull Bay Ltd. Manufacturers two types of ...

Bull Bay Ltd. Manufacturers two types of surfboard, "Winner" and "Surf King", whose selling prices are $300 and $900 respectively. Each surfboard passes through two manufacturing d

Amortization of bond premium for the year, on the first day of the current ...

on the first day of the current fiscal year $2,000,000 of 10 year 7% bonds with interest payable annually, were sold for $2,125,000. Present enteries to record the following transa

Show the break-even charts, Q. Show the Break-even charts? Refers graph...

Q. Show the Break-even charts? Refers graphically profit and losses at different levels of sales volume achieved. When sales revenue is greater than total cost it m

Differential costing, DIFFERENTIAL COSTING Marginal costing is often co...

DIFFERENTIAL COSTING Marginal costing is often confused with differential costing. The word 'DIFFERENTIAL COSTING' means 'a technique used in the preparation of adhoc informati

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd