Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Compute the days'' sale, Year Ending April 2009, 2009 April 30, 2008 Net Sa...

Year Ending April 2009, 2009 April 30, 2008 Net Sales $10,148,082 $10,070,778 Accs Receivable 1,171,797 1,161,481 Assume that the accounts receivable (in thousands) were $996,852 a

Standard costing system, Standard costing System has the following main adv...

Standard costing System has the following main advantages or benefits: 1. The process in itself often discloses inefficiencies, because the setting of standards requires a thoro

Component of fixed overheads variance, Component of Fixed Overheads Var...

Component of Fixed Overheads Variance Fixed Overhead Expenditure Variance The fixed overhead expenditure variance is the dissimilarity between the actual fixed expend

Please provide a recommendation, Your client has asked you to evaluate an i...

Your client has asked you to evaluate an investment project for her using what you have learned in school regarding the net present value method. The project will run for eight yea

average number of callers waiting, Radovilsky's Department Store in Haywoo...

Radovilsky's Department Store in Haywood, California, maintains a successful catalog sales department in which a clerk takes orders by telephone. If the clerk is occupied on one li

#investment appraisal techniques, #what is the formula for calculating payb...

#what is the formula for calculating payback period and what are its limitations ?

Traditional Overhead Allocation and Activity Based Costing, The controller ...

The controller for U.S. Route 66 Truck Parts is comparing traditional overhead allocationwith ABC. After studying both approaches, the controller prepared the following list of fea

OBJECTIVES OF COST ACCOUNTING, OBJECTIVES OF COST ACCOUNTING : 1-DETERMININ...

OBJECTIVES OF COST ACCOUNTING : 1-DETERMINING SELLING PRICE 2-CONTROLING COST 3- PROVIDING INFORMATION FOR DESING MAKING 4-ASCERTAINING COSTING PROFIT 5-Facilitating preparation of

Absorption and marginal costing, company XY produces a single product ''XY1...

company XY produces a single product ''XY1" selling price per unit 15, direct materials per unit 4 direct labour per unit 3 variable overhead per unit 2 fixed overhead incurred 12

The cost per complete unit, In a given period production and cost data were...

In a given period production and cost data were as follows:     Total Costs   Materials   Rs. 5,115                      Labour          3,952                     Overheads

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd