Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

The manufacturing overhead cost, Rediger Inc. a manufacturing company, has ...

Rediger Inc. a manufacturing company, has provided the following data for the month of June. The balance in the Work in Process inventory account was $22,000 at the beginning of th

Regression analysis method of cost estimation, Regression Analysis Method o...

Regression Analysis Method of Cost Estimation It includes estimating the cost function by utilizing past data or the dependent and the independent variables. Hence the cost fu

Internal sources of funds, While we are looking for sources funds it is oth...

While we are looking for sources funds it is other than natural to start searching from home. What do we have? During examining the requirement for working capital we could also ma

Recording Transactions, I have a project due this week and I am having slig...

I have a project due this week and I am having slight issues with the transactions. I cannot seem to receive the correct titles under the recordings

Depreciation (to be computed), I just do not know which form those numbers ...

I just do not know which form those numbers should go in. I would canculate the results myself. Thanks John and Ellen Brite are married and file a joint return. They have no depend

Determine operating cash flow, What are the missing amounts for the below a...

What are the missing amounts for the below amortization table, given the following information? -  A firm borrows $100,000 from a bank. -  The terms of the loan require the f

Required ledgers in financial system, Required Ledgers in Financial System ...

Required Ledgers in Financial System In the financial Systems the Required ledgers are as: The General Ledger Debtors Ledger Creditors Ledger

Account, contract account formate

contract account formate

Investment, under which type of asset the investment comes

under which type of asset the investment comes

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd