Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Standard cost, Standard Cost A predetermined cost is representing the i...

Standard Cost A predetermined cost is representing the ideal or norm achievable through an organization. Standard costs form the basis of a standard cost system used extensivel

Compute the industry volume variance for each product, The next year's budg...

The next year's budget for Benny, Inc., is given below: Product 1 & 2 Sales $945,000 & 688500 Variable costs 459,900 & 297,000 Fixed costs 300

Cost classification, #question.discuss the importance of cost classificatio...

#question.discuss the importance of cost classification to a business organisation?

Absorption costing, What is an advantage of using absorption costing? A....

What is an advantage of using absorption costing? A. It permits a business to calculate the break-even point for production. B. It permits a business to calculate the total c

Determine difference between results using marginal costing, Determine Diff...

Determine Difference between Results Using Marginal Costing and Absorption Costing The overhead absorption rate for product X is Ksh.10 per machine hour. All unit of product X

Direct materials total variance, Direct Materials Total Variance Direc...

Direct Materials Total Variance Direct materials total variances refer to the difference between the standard direct material cost of the actual production volume and the actu

Determine the acquisition cost, Waterloo Machining, Inc. paid $1,800,000 fo...

Waterloo Machining, Inc. paid $1,800,000 for factory equipment on January 1, 2012. It paid $100,000 for delivery and $220,000 for installation and modifications.  Waterloo received

Sources of funds, We have noticed that working capital is needed to finance...

We have noticed that working capital is needed to finance that portion of current assets that is not financed through current liabilities. We also noticed that the investments repr

Cost component, Identify the individual cost components and the total cost ...

Identify the individual cost components and the total cost of delivering the product from supplier to retailer.   Identify each cost in terms of the incremental addition to the pro

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd