Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Determine the net book value, NSC Ltd. has a 31 May fiscal year-end. NSC di...

NSC Ltd. has a 31 May fiscal year-end. NSC disposed of its Information Systems Group (ISG) on 31 January 20X3. ISG had a net loss (after taxes) of $37,700,000 in 20X3, to the date

Keogh plan, Most of David's clients are local. However, a few of his client...

Most of David's clients are local. However, a few of his clients require out of town travel. He incurred $2,500 of airfare, $1,570 in lodging and $1,313 in meals relating to the bu

Cost data determination, Cost Data Determination How does one decide th...

Cost Data Determination How does one decide the cost data for products and the services which are the end result of the productive processes? The response to this question is m

Wages and salaries, Given the information that follows, prepare a cash budg...

Given the information that follows, prepare a cash budget for the XYZ Store for the first six months of 2010. All prices and costs remain constant. Sales are 90% for cre

Managerial accounting, Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorne...

Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorned with college logos. During the first quarter of the year, the company had the following costs: Direct materials used $55,500 D

Social benefit cost analysis, Define the concept of opportunity cost in y...

Define the concept of opportunity cost in your own words. Given an example from your own life of the opportunity cost of a decision (do NOT use classroom examples). Explain why o

Numerical question, Beaver Company (a multi-product firm) produces 5,000 un...

Beaver Company (a multi-product firm) produces 5,000 units of Product X each year. Each unit of Product X sells for $8 and has a contribution margin of $5. If Product X is disconti

Expenditure for the base period and the current period, 1. The table below ...

1. The table below gives data for Southland where there are three consumption goods: bananas, coconuts and grapes. Goods Quantity in base period basket

Compute depreciation for each year, A machine costing $210,400 with a four-...

A machine costing $210,400 with a four-year life and an estimated $20,000 salvage value is installed in Luther Company's factory on January 1. The factory manager estimates the mac

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd