Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Prepare a statement to show the total overheads, QUESTION 1: PART A ...

QUESTION 1: PART A Swatathon Inc. has two production departments (A and B) and two service departments (maintenance and stores). Details of next year's budgeted overheads

Calculate the re-negotiate the part-time trainers cost, a.    If you could ...

a.    If you could pick a single source of cash for your business, what would it be? Why? b.    How can a business earn large profits but have a small balance in Retained Earnin

Budgetary planning and control - accounting techniques, Budgetary Planning ...

Budgetary Planning and Control - Accounting Techniques A budget is a   plan of action expressed in monetary terms. Therefore it is a quantified plan of what one intends to do.

Accrued income, Accrued income is an amount earned although not in reality ...

Accrued income is an amount earned although not in reality received during the accounting period or till the date of preparation of last accounts for the period concerned. The firs

Ms, Goga Ltd is busy building a five-star hotel in the area, they use the p...

Goga Ltd is busy building a five-star hotel in the area, they use the percentage of completion method to determine profits and would like to calculate the profit for the year. dra

Paramecium, Place a prepared slide of Paratuecium under the microscope and...

Place a prepared slide of Paratuecium under the microscope and focus it under low power (5x x 5x) and observe the following: i) It has a cigar-shaped or slipper-shaped body

Calculate cost of goods sold under throughput costing, The follow data rela...

The follow data relates to year 20XX for Plano Manufacturing Company: Units produced - 2,000 Units sold - 1,800 Selling price - $200 / per unit Direct material costs - $80,000 Dire

Calculate the price of regular bonds, XYZ Inc. plans to raise $5,000,000 ex...

XYZ Inc. plans to raise $5,000,000 external financing through issuing bonds, and is considering two options: regular bonds and zero couple bonds.  The regular bonds will have coupo

Component of fixed overheads variance, Component of Fixed Overheads Var...

Component of Fixed Overheads Variance Fixed Overhead Expenditure Variance The fixed overhead expenditure variance is the dissimilarity between the actual fixed expend

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd