Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Bases of cost classification, Bases of Cost Classification These vario...

Bases of Cost Classification These various bases of cost classification are summarized in the diagram underneath as: Here, we will usually refer to either of these ter

Accelerated cost recovery system - acrs, ACRS is a system of depreciation s...

ACRS is a system of depreciation started by the Economic Recovery Tax Act of 1981. ACRS depreciation relies on recovery periods in spite of useful life. These periods were preset b

Determine the total amount of product cost, Product and period costs; CGM; ...

Product and period costs; CGM; CGS On August 1, 2013, Sietens Corporation had the following account balances: Raw Material Inventory (both direct and indirect) :- $ 72,000 WIP Inve

Activity Based Costing, How do I figure the estimated activity and estimate...

How do I figure the estimated activity and estimated allocation base?

Change in method of deprecation, Your client has asked you to provide guida...

Your client has asked you to provide guidance on the following potential accounting changes: (1) Change from straight-line method of depreciation to sum-of-the-years'-digits (2) Ch

Determine which project is more lucrative - investment , The Zooline Compan...

The Zooline Company (Pty) Ltd is an American based company that focuses on the LSM 8 -10 markets. They do vehicle interiors, raise or lower suspensions and install top end sound sy

Trypanosoma, Place a prepared slide of Trypunosoma under tlic microscope an...

Place a prepared slide of Trypunosoma under tlic microscope and focus it under low power, You will observe large number of tiny spindle-shaped trypanosomes lying in the plasma alll

Contemporary Management accounting issue, Hello, I am writing a report ab...

Hello, I am writing a report about a contemporary management accounting issue, and i can''t really seem to understand the guidelines well. What kind of topic can i use to write a

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd