Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Manufacturing concern to organization, Manufacturing Concern to Organizatio...

Manufacturing Concern to Organization There are three manufacturing centres as Making, Packing and Finishing.  These are supported through five support departments, namely Mai

Question, mojor elements of cost sheet

mojor elements of cost sheet

Calculate an appropriate absorption rate, Three of the cost items that are ...

Three of the cost items that are included in the production overhead for a factory for a period are: Machine maintenance labour $33,600 Power

Motivation - behavioural aspects of standards, Motivation - Behavioural Asp...

Motivation - Behavioural Aspects of Standards Variance analysis and standards setting requires to be carried out like it motivates managers and other employees. It should not

Factors affect decision making, Factors affect Decision Making These d...

Factors affect Decision Making These decisions need consideration of factors as like A. The level of market possible to be available in future B. The strategy that compe

Features of effective cost center framework, Features of Effective Cost Cen...

Features of Effective Cost Center Framework During the establishing cost centers, an organization must consider the given points as: a) Clear definition about the cost cent

Calculate the primary deficit, Assume B, G and T are in real terms (and in ...

Assume B, G and T are in real terms (and in billions of dollars). B t-1  = 1000      G t = 220           T t = 200            i t   = .15     π t   = . 10 a) Calculate th

Co-ownership incentive scheme or profit sharing schemes, Co-ownership incen...

Co-ownership incentive scheme or Profit Sharing Schemes The organization permits for ownership whereby the employees are permitted to own a percentage of the shares in the fir

Explain break-even revenue, Q. Explain Break-even revenue? Sales revenu...

Q. Explain Break-even revenue? Sales revenue earned would give no profit and no loss. It can be computed by multiplying break-even volume (above) by products selling price, or

Break-even calculations, Break-Even Calculations As they say, a picture...

Break-Even Calculations As they say, a picture is significance a thousand words, and this is undoubtedly true for the CVP graphic just presented. Though, everyone is not an art

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd