Cvp for multiple products, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

CVP for Multiple Products

What number of businesses sells only one manufactured goods? The reality is that firms usually give us the diverse product line, and the individual products will have different, contribution margins, selling prices and contribution margin ratios. Yet, the firm's whole fixed cost picture may be the same, does not matter the mix of the products sold. This can cloud the ability to do simple CVP analysis. To lift this cloud needs some knowledge of the product mix.

Let's suppose Hummingbird Feeders produces and sells a brightly coloured feeding container for $15 (variable cost of production is $10, and contribution margin is $5) and the nectar formula for $3 each packet ($1 variable cost to produce, resulting in a $2 contribution margin). Hummingbird Feeders sells 10 packets of nectar for the every feeder sold. Its permanent cost is $100,000. What number of feeders and packets should be sold to break even? To answer to this question needs a redefinition of the "unit." If we suppose the "unit" is 1 feeder and 10 packets, we would then see that each of the "unit" would have a contribution margin of $25, as given below.

Contribution Margin

 

Feeder

1 item @ $5

=

$5.00

Nectar  Packets

10 items @ $2 each

=

  20.00

"Unit"  contribution

 

 

$25.00

To recover the sum of $100,000 of the fixed cost, at $25 of contribution per "unit," would need selling 4,000 "units" ($100,000/$25). To be clear, this translates into 4,000 the feeders and 40,000 packets of the nectar. The whole breakeven sales would be $180,000 (($15 X 4,000 feeders) + ($3 X 40,000 packets)). Obviously, the validity of this analysis relies upon actual sales occurring in the the predicted ratio. Changes in product mix will result in the changes in the break-even levels. If Hummingbird Feeders sold $180,000 in feeders, and no packets of nectar at all, they would come nowhere near the breakeven because the giving margin ratio on feeders is much lower than on the packets of the nectar.

Note that one could also obtain the $180,000 result by dividing the fixed cost by weighted-average contribution margin ($100,000/0.555 = $180,000). The weighted-average involvement margin of 0.555 is calculated is shown below:


Feeder (1 @ $15)  $15/$45           X         $5/$15 =          0.1111

Nectar Packets (10 @ $3) $30/$45           X         $2/$3   =          0.4444

0.5555

Businesses should be mindful of the product mix. Automobile manufacturers have a wide range of products, some at the high margin and some at the lower levels. If customers surprisingly substitute economy cars for sport utility vehicles, the basic models for luxury models, etc., the resulting bottom line impacts can be important. Product mix can also be necessary for companies which sell a base product and a related disposable. For instance, a printer manufacturer can sell "unprofitable" printers along with the large quantities of high margin ink cartridges. Managers of such businesses require watching not only the total sales, but also keep an eye on the product mix.


Related Discussions:- Cvp for multiple products

Calculate the pay back period after tax cash flows, An investment alternati...

An investment alternative in a project requires a capital cost of $102 millions completed at time zero. The investment will produce a stream of revenue of $50 millions per year ove

Cash flow statement, Portions of the financial statements for Hawkeye Compa...

Portions of the financial statements for Hawkeye Company are provided below. HAWKEYE COMPANY Income Statement For the Year Ended December 31, 2013 Sales $ 850 Cost of goods sold (3

Mining industry, are exploration costs of a mining company an asset or an e...

are exploration costs of a mining company an asset or an expense

Segment reporting, Juniper Ltd is a listed diversified company.  In prepari...

Juniper Ltd is a listed diversified company.  In preparing its financial statements in accordance with AASB 8, the chief operating officer has identified three operating segments:

Overhead budgets for 2011., Atkinson's Reliable Tools makes two products th...

Atkinson's Reliable Tools makes two products that use similar raw materials: #587Q and #253X. Estimated production needs for a unit of each product follows. #587Q #253X Steel (in p

Product costing methods, What are the strengths and weaknesses of the vario...

What are the strengths and weaknesses of the various costing methods and which would you recommend for a manufacturing enterpris? 2000word assay plus appendix

Management Acconting, what is the different between Financial accounting an...

what is the different between Financial accounting and management accounting?

Accounting records - nature and purpose of cost accounting, Accounting Reco...

Accounting Records - Nature and Purpose of Cost Accounting The quantitative information employed in the management and cost accounting systems can be obtained from with two ac

Determine the net book value, NSC Ltd. has a 31 May fiscal year-end. NSC di...

NSC Ltd. has a 31 May fiscal year-end. NSC disposed of its Information Systems Group (ISG) on 31 January 20X3. ISG had a net loss (after taxes) of $37,700,000 in 20X3, to the date

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd