Break-even calculations, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Break-Even Calculations

As they say, a picture is significance a thousand words, and this is undoubtedly true for the CVP graphic just presented. Though, everyone is not an artist, and you may find it more precise to perform a little algebra to calculate/compute the break-even point. Let's consider:

Break-even results when the:

Sales = Total Variable Costs + Total Fixed Costs

For Leyland, the math comes out this way:

(Units X $2,000) = (Units X $800) + $1,200,000

Further Solving:

Step a: (Units X $2,000) = (Units X $800) + $1,200,000

Step b: (Units X $1,200) = $1,200,000

Step c: Units = 1,000

Now, it is possible to "jump to step b" above by separating the fixed costs by the contribution margin per unit. Hence, a break-even short cut is:

Break-Even Point in Units = Total Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin Per Unit

1,000 Units = $1,200,000 / $1,200

At times, you might want to know the break-even point in dollars of sales (rather than units). This approach is particularly useful for companies with more than one product, where all these products all have almost same contribution margin ratio:

Break-Even Point in Sales = Total Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin Ratio

$2,000,000 = $1,200,000 / 0.60


Related Discussions:- Break-even calculations

Determine the current ratio, When firms enter into loan agreements with the...

When firms enter into loan agreements with their bank it is very common for the agreement to have a restriction on the minimum current ratio the firm has to maintain. So, it is imp

Managerial accounting, Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorne...

Classic Coolers manufactures portable coolers adorned with college logos. During the first quarter of the year, the company had the following costs: Direct materials used $55,500 D

Calculate annual revenue, Bentley Plastics Ltd. Has annual fixed cost of $4...

Bentley Plastics Ltd. Has annual fixed cost of $450,000, variable costs of $15 per unit and a contribution rate of 40% a.    What annual revenue is required to break even? b.

#manual productions, Vary the force by hiring layoffs. No over time.

Vary the force by hiring layoffs. No over time.

Making variance analysis more meaningful, Making Variance Analysis More Mea...

Making Variance Analysis More Meaningful To compose variance analysis as useful aid to management is the main objective of variance calculations.  However this can only be don

Gross rental revenue, Operating Income 1. Operating Income is derived f...

Operating Income 1. Operating Income is derived from two sources, Rental Income from businesses operating in the warehouse complex and Interest Income of the project operating

Shrinkage - production process, Shrinkage - Production Process This re...

Shrinkage - Production Process This refers to a disappearance or loss of material inputs utilized throughout the production process. It happens mainly via the evaporation. Thi

Straight line method, Assume that $140,000 of Denham Springs school dostric...

Assume that $140,000 of Denham Springs school dostrict 8% bonds are sold on the bond issue date for $128,598 interest is payable semiannually, and the bonds mature in 15 years. The

Target profit and break even analysis, Lindon Company is the exclusive dist...

Lindon Company is the exclusive distributor for an automotive product that sells for $43 per unit and has a CM ratio of 35%. The company''s fixed expenses are $421,400 per year. Th

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd