Break-even calculations, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Break-Even Calculations

As they say, a picture is significance a thousand words, and this is undoubtedly true for the CVP graphic just presented. Though, everyone is not an artist, and you may find it more precise to perform a little algebra to calculate/compute the break-even point. Let's consider:

Break-even results when the:

Sales = Total Variable Costs + Total Fixed Costs

For Leyland, the math comes out this way:

(Units X $2,000) = (Units X $800) + $1,200,000

Further Solving:

Step a: (Units X $2,000) = (Units X $800) + $1,200,000

Step b: (Units X $1,200) = $1,200,000

Step c: Units = 1,000

Now, it is possible to "jump to step b" above by separating the fixed costs by the contribution margin per unit. Hence, a break-even short cut is:

Break-Even Point in Units = Total Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin Per Unit

1,000 Units = $1,200,000 / $1,200

At times, you might want to know the break-even point in dollars of sales (rather than units). This approach is particularly useful for companies with more than one product, where all these products all have almost same contribution margin ratio:

Break-Even Point in Sales = Total Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin Ratio

$2,000,000 = $1,200,000 / 0.60


Related Discussions:- Break-even calculations

Wages and salaries, Given the information that follows, prepare a cash budg...

Given the information that follows, prepare a cash budget for the XYZ Store for the first six months of 2010. All prices and costs remain constant. Sales are 90% for cre

Variable production cost , From  the  following  data  write the  standard ...

From  the  following  data  write the  standard  cost  card  for  one  unit  of  the  sole  product manufactured.                                    Standard Cost card for One U

Bases of cost classification, Bases of Cost Classification These vario...

Bases of Cost Classification These various bases of cost classification are summarized in the diagram underneath as: Here, we will usually refer to either of these ter

Find the amount capitalized for the patent account, Gomez incurred $350,000...

Gomez incurred $350,000 of research and development costs to develop a product for which a patent was granted on January 2, 2008. Legal fees and other costs associated with the re

Discount model of stock valuation-ddm, Value one stock using the dividend d...

Value one stock using the dividend discount model of stock valuation with two periods of constant growth (not the simple one period growth model).  See chapter 18 of the textbook

Product versus period costs, Product Versus Period Costs Another way to...

Product Versus Period Costs Another way to look at manufacturing costs is to think of them as attaching to a product. In other words, goods result from the manufacturing proces

What is the profit maximizing level of advertising, Smith Corp. has determi...

Smith Corp. has determined that its contribution margin, (P - MC)/P, is 40%. A recent market research study found the following relationship between adverting outlays and sales rev

Prepaid expenses, Expenses paid in previous of their use or consumption is ...

Expenses paid in previous of their use or consumption is termed as prepaid expenses. At the ending of the year, a portion of the payment keeps unconsumed and is treated like an ass

Cost volume profit analysis, Cost Volume Profit Analysis 1. Post Publish...

Cost Volume Profit Analysis 1. Post Publishers has collected the following data for recent months: Month                 Issues published              Total cost May

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd