Break-even calculations, Cost Accounting

Assignment Help:

Break-Even Calculations

As they say, a picture is significance a thousand words, and this is undoubtedly true for the CVP graphic just presented. Though, everyone is not an artist, and you may find it more precise to perform a little algebra to calculate/compute the break-even point. Let's consider:

Break-even results when the:

Sales = Total Variable Costs + Total Fixed Costs

For Leyland, the math comes out this way:

(Units X $2,000) = (Units X $800) + $1,200,000

Further Solving:

Step a: (Units X $2,000) = (Units X $800) + $1,200,000

Step b: (Units X $1,200) = $1,200,000

Step c: Units = 1,000

Now, it is possible to "jump to step b" above by separating the fixed costs by the contribution margin per unit. Hence, a break-even short cut is:

Break-Even Point in Units = Total Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin Per Unit

1,000 Units = $1,200,000 / $1,200

At times, you might want to know the break-even point in dollars of sales (rather than units). This approach is particularly useful for companies with more than one product, where all these products all have almost same contribution margin ratio:

Break-Even Point in Sales = Total Fixed Costs / Contribution Margin Ratio

$2,000,000 = $1,200,000 / 0.60


Related Discussions:- Break-even calculations

General ledger, Jp Rhodes started a bowling club called " bowl them over". ...

Jp Rhodes started a bowling club called " bowl them over". The following transactions took place 4 March 2012. 1. Bowling LTD transferred R20 000 bank account of the club as an in

Definition of budget, DEFINITION OF BUDGET As per the Institute of Cos...

DEFINITION OF BUDGET As per the Institute of Cost & Management (ICMA), London, a BUDGET is 'a quantitative statement and / or financial, prepared and approved prior to a defin

Journal entry for sale of machinery, Rayya Co. purchases and installs a mac...

Rayya Co. purchases and installs a machine on January 1, 2013, at a total cost of $105,000. Straight-line depreciation is taken each year for four years assuming a seven-year life

What is the amount of cost of goods manufactured, Wayne Company's beginning...

Wayne Company's beginning and ending inventories for the month of June were as follows: June 1 June 30 Work in progress $145,000 171,000 Finished Goods 85,000 78,000 Production

Cash flows statement, What type of activity could a company engage in to im...

What type of activity could a company engage in to improve their cash flows in their Cash Flows Statement? Is this ethical? Could borrowing money make the cash from operations be

Normality and that seasonality is not a factor, One item a computer store s...

One item a computer store sells is supplied by a vendor who handles only that item. Demand for that item recently changed, and the store manager must determine when to replenish it

Features of effective cost center framework, Features of Effective Cost Cen...

Features of Effective Cost Center Framework During the establishing cost centers, an organization must consider the given points as: a) Clear definition about the cost cent

Flexible budget, Prod 400000 DM cost $3 DL 24 moh v 1.80 F 4.50 products 35...

Prod 400000 DM cost $3 DL 24 moh v 1.80 F 4.50 products 35000 DMP12000lb@$11/lb DM use10450lb DL38500HR 880500 v moh64150 FMOH152000

Features of jit, What are the major features of JIT?

What are the major features of JIT?

Write Your Message!

Captcha
Free Assignment Quote

Assured A++ Grade

Get guaranteed satisfaction & time on delivery in every assignment order you paid with us! We ensure premium quality solution document along with free turntin report!

All rights reserved! Copyrights ©2019-2020 ExpertsMind IT Educational Pvt Ltd